Saturday, October 19, 2013

Independent Woman and Love-Impossible? RT

Hey there lovely!
So I am sitting here enjoying my Saturday morning, finishing up my breakfast, reading through a new blog I may follow, http://crochetingthedayaway.blogspot.com , and I am also texting my current boyfriend. It is such a nice peaceful Saturday and my room is somewhat clean so I don't feel the hassle to get up and go today. To be honest this past week despite midterms, has been very peaceful.
This year in January I made a resolution, and that was that I would do everything this year in order to improve myself and make me a better person. I started out small...by just enjoying my leisure time. Actually no, I started off by actually making time for leisure time. I quit my job and focused solely on my school work and research. I am a research assistant for the department of psychology at my university. Anyways, I started off hanging out with my friends more often, doing things to make me feel happy. What especially drove it home was watching the documentary Happy, and realizing that if I didn't change something about my life sooner I was going to end up dying. Not even kidding. The amount of stress, sleep deprivation, and frustration/anxiety I was going through was enough to actually kill me one day if it continued. Luckily I put a stop to it and started my new "enlightenment" path...I call it my Eat Pray Love path ahaha. So a few months later I was doing great in school, feeling better, and even looking better since I started working out. I went up to GA for two weeks, and while I was there I spot a picture on a social media site that had to do with a club at my university. I had seen this club before but didn't give it much attention because I wasn't on campus the days they met. Over the summer though I didn't have much else to do so I commented on there when they met and where and the following week I was at practice watching everyone do their thing. That first day I couldn't fathom the idea of getting back into martial arts, these kids were good...really good...and I'm just there rusty and old and without a clue about TaeKwonDo. But that didn't stop me. I read online on one of those pics with quotes on them and one of the lines said "If you are looking for the love of your life;STOP. They will be waiting for you when you start doing things you love." I did tae kwon do way back in the way when I was 9 after my mom signed me up because I kept getting bullied at school, but getting back into it at 22 was more nerve wrecking. I always had a passion for it though so I through myself into tae kwon do and I LOVED it. A few bumps and bruises later I was getting more comfortable with the team and with my tae kwon do. I was more happy at this point than at the beginning of my journey. One day at practice, a lot changed. It's crazy how one day you wake up thinking you are happy with what you have and whom is in your life until you meet someone who makes it all better. I was in a good place with my friends, my family and even myself. I had started blogging more. I started going to church on a regular basis. I even joined the youth group and started participating more often. I made friends along the way that helped me grow even though they probably have no idea. Everything was great. Then Jonathan comes along. One Monday morning, I sleepily rolled out of bed, put my hair in a bun, and put my glasses on. I didn't care how rachet I looked, and I knew my teammates wouldn't care either. They had already seen me in worse conditions. Jonathan happens to drop by that morning. And he joined the team for practice. During one of our drills, he points out that i needed to "fix my foot". At this point I never spoke to Jonathan and I gave him the "who the hell do you think you are talking to?" because of course no one tells me what to do. Only my coaches can correct my technique. So after our drill was over I sat down because my knees were hurting really bad. He noticed this and asked me what happened and I told him my story. Afterwards, I was just laying there, watching everyone do their drills and Jonathan is about to leave. He shakes hands with my coach, and then shakes hands with me and re-introduces himself and says that it was nice to meet me. He left, and I had no idea that after that my life was going to change for the better.
So what does this all have to do with independent women and love?
Well you see, for the longest time I didn't think it was possible for me to find a suitable man. Almost every guy I dated or thought about dating wasn't capable of handling me and my independence. See, I live on my own, take care of myself, do everything myself, cook clean etc. Most guys want that, but they don't want to feel unneeded. For me, I just didn't need a man in my life. I am capable of doing everything for myself. Because men want to feel needed, I had given up on finding the right man for me. I knew that maybe one day I would find him but the odds were slim. After meeting Jonathan, we hung out and he mentioned that night that he was not afraid of an independent woman. He said if I wanted a guy who was up for the challenge, that he was up for it. And let me tell you, he definitely has kept his word. He understands who I am and doesn't make me feel bad about it. He encourages me to be better and likes that I stick up for myself. At this time I am very happy with the way things turned out with me and Jonathan. Our story is unique and we complement each other nicely. Even if we never fall in love...or break up next month, I now know that there are guys out there that CAN handle independent women. Just do the things you love, and love with find its way. Don't change your attitude about life just to find a good man. You really don't need one, and you can be happy by yourself.

Thanks so much for reading, I hope you find this helpful/inspiring. Take care!
Karina

Another 25 Q tag!

Hey there!
So I know I've been slacking big time on updating my blog. Summer ended and the semester got started...so far things have been good. Can't complain about my last semester of college! Other than that my makeup and beauty routine has fallen into a dud...not too many products have been purchased and my routine seems to stay the same...shimmery eyeshadow, black gel liner, pink blush and nude lips. But  until I get inspired to do some new beauty looks I will be doing Real Talk posts and Tag posts. And maybe a review or two :) Thanks so much for reading! Hope you enjoy -xo Karina
1. Do you have any pets? 
Yes I have a Yorkie named Snoopy and he is the biggest spoiled little dog but i love him more than anything in this world.2. Name 3 things that are physically close to you. 
Ravenclaw tumbler cup cell phone, and nook3. What's the weather like right now? 
Clear sky and sunny!4. Do you drive? If so have you crashed?
I do drive...i have not crashed.  
5. What time did you wake up this morning?

7:58AM 
6. When was the last time you showered?

yesterday 
7. What was the last movie you saw?

The Aristrocats 
8. What does your last text message say? 

"im sending you a link on fb..."9. What's your ringtone?
Old school telephone...but usually i have my phone on vibrate 
10. Have you ever been to a different country? 

UK, France,Italy, Peru, Chile, Canada11. Do you like sushi? 
I tried an avocado roll..those seemed legit.12. Where do you buy your groceries? 
Usually Walmart...sometimes Publix13. Have you ever taken medication to help you fall asleep faster?
Hell no. wth? 
14. How many siblings do you have? 

I am technically an only child.15. Do you have a desktop computer or a laptop? 
Laptop16. How old will you be turning on your next birthday? 
twenty three....damn im getting old17. Do you wear contacts or glasses? 
both, i like to mix it up a lot.18. Do you color your hair? 
Yes, but im thinking about letting it grow out19. Tell me something you are planning to do today. 
I plan to see my friend Diego20. When was the last time you cried? 
I honestly can't remember....thugs don't cry!21. What is your perfect pizza topping? 
Meatball! 22. Which do you prefer-hamburgers or cheeseburgers? 
Hamburger23. Have you ever had an all-nighter? 
Yes and it was horrible. Im the type of person who NEEDS sleep, so depriving my body of that definitely took its toll on me...and I ended up with a B+ in the class anyways. -_-24. What is your eye color? 
Dark brown, except in the light you can tell I have a little hint of a light amber color..small hint.25. Can you taste the difference between Pepsi and Coke?
Yes I can! and Pepsi is def better!

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Dots and Pie!

Hey guys!
It's been a while since I last posted!! haha yeah right! I'm on a roll today! I was inspired to do this look simply because the colors were right in front of me and I wanted to do something nice. The ladies at the sorority Alpha Omicron Pi rock the red and white! I decided to do a little polka dots to make it cute but my dots came out so uniform and in a straight line haha perfectionist much?
Let me know what you think! I'm really loving the red and white combo :)

XO Karina

Sinful Colors and JullieG nail polishes!

Hey there!
i'm back with another post! This one is all about nails! The polishes featured are Sinful Colors Professional in Endless Blue, Snow me White, and Scandal. Also mentioned are the JulieG polishes in Birthday Suit and Cherry on Top.
 Scandal, Snow Me White and Endless Blue.


Birthday Suit and Cherry On Top

I found the Sinful Colors nail polishes at my local Target. I've also seen them at Walgreens. They are priced around the $1.99 (USD). The JulieG nail polishes I purchased at Rite Aid. They were priced at $3.99 (USD). So how do they look? Take a look for yourself! 

SinfulColors Professional


 One coat of each polish
 Two coats of each polish (no flash)
Two coats of each polish with flash.
As you can see the white is really opaque. And the pink has a jelly sort of finish. The blue is also nice and creamy. 
My thoughts: These polishes are great for the price! The only downside for me is that the blue one smells oddly stronger than the others :( boo....but it is a nice color. I love the white one for french tips. And the pink one has such a glossy jelly like finish that I don't think a top coat is needed. Also dried nicely, so no complaints there. And it also only took two coats to get a good color pay off. 

JulieG 

 One coat (without flash)
 Two coats (without flash)
Two coats (with flash)
Both colors are quite lovely! They both remind me a little of the Essie nail polishes.
My thoughts: I like the red one better than the pink one. The pink one can get streaky if you don't put enough polish on the first time. The red one doesn't seem to have that problem! Both have a nice glossy finish and don't have a highly offensive smell. (to me at least) I give these polishes a thumbs up! 

I hope you enjoyed my mini review and let me know if you have ever tried any of these polishes!
Take Care
XO  Karina

Nailspiration!

Hey loves! 
Hope this post finds you well...I've been on a roll with these inspirations lately! Today's nail look is inspired by one of my lovely friends, Isa. She is a sister of the Alpha Xi Delta sorority and I was inspired to use the colors and letters of the sorority. Its a lovely color and I think I did a pretty good job. I'm thinking about making more nail inspired looks but my limited stash of colors is holding me back...hmmm sounds like its time to go shopping...I hope you enjoy this look! Let me know if you have any requests! I will also be doing a review on the Sinful colors nail polishes so stay tuned!

XO Karina

Monday, August 19, 2013

Milani Lipstick-Current Favorite!

Hey guys, its me again!
I wanted to make another quick post about a lipstick I've been loving lately. AmandaAlise from Youtube, showed off one of her favorite Milani lipsticks in a video. (BTW if you havn't checked her out you totally should!)
Anyways..I was out Target shopping for the dreaded time of the month supplies, is that tmi? hmm oh wells...and I had to stop by the make-up section. Of course my Target had to have these lipsticks on clearance! I got mine for 3.49$ US dollars. It was totally worth the price! I am not one to wear crazy bold lipsticks but this pink look fabulous!



 It is a matte finish and it lasts a really long time! My lips are already dry on their own so I would def exfoliate before putting it on. Oh I forgot to mention they are Milani Color Statement, and mine is shade 15 Hot Pink Rage. Be sure to check these lipsticks out! Wish I could've gotten more...there was a nude shade that had my name all over it! but I have been trying to use up what I already own so I only picked this up...and a Sinful Colors nailpolish...okayyyy well that's all for now!
xo Karina

Manicure Monday!

Hey there loves!
Today is Monday! and I gave myself a manicure. For my birthday my bestie got me this gorgeous taupe color by Essie called Chinchilly (don't quote me on the name, i am not 100% sure that it is accurate but its something along those lines)
Here I used two coats and of course base/top coats. I am loving the way my nails look, perfect for everyday! If I still worked in an office I'm sure it would still be appropriate to wear.
Let me know what you are wearing on your nails these days!
Thanks for stopping by, take care!
-Karina