Saturday, October 19, 2013

Independent Woman and Love-Impossible? RT

Hey there lovely!
So I am sitting here enjoying my Saturday morning, finishing up my breakfast, reading through a new blog I may follow, http://crochetingthedayaway.blogspot.com , and I am also texting my current boyfriend. It is such a nice peaceful Saturday and my room is somewhat clean so I don't feel the hassle to get up and go today. To be honest this past week despite midterms, has been very peaceful.
This year in January I made a resolution, and that was that I would do everything this year in order to improve myself and make me a better person. I started out small...by just enjoying my leisure time. Actually no, I started off by actually making time for leisure time. I quit my job and focused solely on my school work and research. I am a research assistant for the department of psychology at my university. Anyways, I started off hanging out with my friends more often, doing things to make me feel happy. What especially drove it home was watching the documentary Happy, and realizing that if I didn't change something about my life sooner I was going to end up dying. Not even kidding. The amount of stress, sleep deprivation, and frustration/anxiety I was going through was enough to actually kill me one day if it continued. Luckily I put a stop to it and started my new "enlightenment" path...I call it my Eat Pray Love path ahaha. So a few months later I was doing great in school, feeling better, and even looking better since I started working out. I went up to GA for two weeks, and while I was there I spot a picture on a social media site that had to do with a club at my university. I had seen this club before but didn't give it much attention because I wasn't on campus the days they met. Over the summer though I didn't have much else to do so I commented on there when they met and where and the following week I was at practice watching everyone do their thing. That first day I couldn't fathom the idea of getting back into martial arts, these kids were good...really good...and I'm just there rusty and old and without a clue about TaeKwonDo. But that didn't stop me. I read online on one of those pics with quotes on them and one of the lines said "If you are looking for the love of your life;STOP. They will be waiting for you when you start doing things you love." I did tae kwon do way back in the way when I was 9 after my mom signed me up because I kept getting bullied at school, but getting back into it at 22 was more nerve wrecking. I always had a passion for it though so I through myself into tae kwon do and I LOVED it. A few bumps and bruises later I was getting more comfortable with the team and with my tae kwon do. I was more happy at this point than at the beginning of my journey. One day at practice, a lot changed. It's crazy how one day you wake up thinking you are happy with what you have and whom is in your life until you meet someone who makes it all better. I was in a good place with my friends, my family and even myself. I had started blogging more. I started going to church on a regular basis. I even joined the youth group and started participating more often. I made friends along the way that helped me grow even though they probably have no idea. Everything was great. Then Jonathan comes along. One Monday morning, I sleepily rolled out of bed, put my hair in a bun, and put my glasses on. I didn't care how rachet I looked, and I knew my teammates wouldn't care either. They had already seen me in worse conditions. Jonathan happens to drop by that morning. And he joined the team for practice. During one of our drills, he points out that i needed to "fix my foot". At this point I never spoke to Jonathan and I gave him the "who the hell do you think you are talking to?" because of course no one tells me what to do. Only my coaches can correct my technique. So after our drill was over I sat down because my knees were hurting really bad. He noticed this and asked me what happened and I told him my story. Afterwards, I was just laying there, watching everyone do their drills and Jonathan is about to leave. He shakes hands with my coach, and then shakes hands with me and re-introduces himself and says that it was nice to meet me. He left, and I had no idea that after that my life was going to change for the better.
So what does this all have to do with independent women and love?
Well you see, for the longest time I didn't think it was possible for me to find a suitable man. Almost every guy I dated or thought about dating wasn't capable of handling me and my independence. See, I live on my own, take care of myself, do everything myself, cook clean etc. Most guys want that, but they don't want to feel unneeded. For me, I just didn't need a man in my life. I am capable of doing everything for myself. Because men want to feel needed, I had given up on finding the right man for me. I knew that maybe one day I would find him but the odds were slim. After meeting Jonathan, we hung out and he mentioned that night that he was not afraid of an independent woman. He said if I wanted a guy who was up for the challenge, that he was up for it. And let me tell you, he definitely has kept his word. He understands who I am and doesn't make me feel bad about it. He encourages me to be better and likes that I stick up for myself. At this time I am very happy with the way things turned out with me and Jonathan. Our story is unique and we complement each other nicely. Even if we never fall in love...or break up next month, I now know that there are guys out there that CAN handle independent women. Just do the things you love, and love with find its way. Don't change your attitude about life just to find a good man. You really don't need one, and you can be happy by yourself.

Thanks so much for reading, I hope you find this helpful/inspiring. Take care!
Karina

Another 25 Q tag!

Hey there!
So I know I've been slacking big time on updating my blog. Summer ended and the semester got started...so far things have been good. Can't complain about my last semester of college! Other than that my makeup and beauty routine has fallen into a dud...not too many products have been purchased and my routine seems to stay the same...shimmery eyeshadow, black gel liner, pink blush and nude lips. But  until I get inspired to do some new beauty looks I will be doing Real Talk posts and Tag posts. And maybe a review or two :) Thanks so much for reading! Hope you enjoy -xo Karina
1. Do you have any pets? 
Yes I have a Yorkie named Snoopy and he is the biggest spoiled little dog but i love him more than anything in this world.2. Name 3 things that are physically close to you. 
Ravenclaw tumbler cup cell phone, and nook3. What's the weather like right now? 
Clear sky and sunny!4. Do you drive? If so have you crashed?
I do drive...i have not crashed.  
5. What time did you wake up this morning?

7:58AM 
6. When was the last time you showered?

yesterday 
7. What was the last movie you saw?

The Aristrocats 
8. What does your last text message say? 

"im sending you a link on fb..."9. What's your ringtone?
Old school telephone...but usually i have my phone on vibrate 
10. Have you ever been to a different country? 

UK, France,Italy, Peru, Chile, Canada11. Do you like sushi? 
I tried an avocado roll..those seemed legit.12. Where do you buy your groceries? 
Usually Walmart...sometimes Publix13. Have you ever taken medication to help you fall asleep faster?
Hell no. wth? 
14. How many siblings do you have? 

I am technically an only child.15. Do you have a desktop computer or a laptop? 
Laptop16. How old will you be turning on your next birthday? 
twenty three....damn im getting old17. Do you wear contacts or glasses? 
both, i like to mix it up a lot.18. Do you color your hair? 
Yes, but im thinking about letting it grow out19. Tell me something you are planning to do today. 
I plan to see my friend Diego20. When was the last time you cried? 
I honestly can't remember....thugs don't cry!21. What is your perfect pizza topping? 
Meatball! 22. Which do you prefer-hamburgers or cheeseburgers? 
Hamburger23. Have you ever had an all-nighter? 
Yes and it was horrible. Im the type of person who NEEDS sleep, so depriving my body of that definitely took its toll on me...and I ended up with a B+ in the class anyways. -_-24. What is your eye color? 
Dark brown, except in the light you can tell I have a little hint of a light amber color..small hint.25. Can you taste the difference between Pepsi and Coke?
Yes I can! and Pepsi is def better!

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Dots and Pie!

Hey guys!
It's been a while since I last posted!! haha yeah right! I'm on a roll today! I was inspired to do this look simply because the colors were right in front of me and I wanted to do something nice. The ladies at the sorority Alpha Omicron Pi rock the red and white! I decided to do a little polka dots to make it cute but my dots came out so uniform and in a straight line haha perfectionist much?
Let me know what you think! I'm really loving the red and white combo :)

XO Karina

Sinful Colors and JullieG nail polishes!

Hey there!
i'm back with another post! This one is all about nails! The polishes featured are Sinful Colors Professional in Endless Blue, Snow me White, and Scandal. Also mentioned are the JulieG polishes in Birthday Suit and Cherry on Top.
 Scandal, Snow Me White and Endless Blue.


Birthday Suit and Cherry On Top

I found the Sinful Colors nail polishes at my local Target. I've also seen them at Walgreens. They are priced around the $1.99 (USD). The JulieG nail polishes I purchased at Rite Aid. They were priced at $3.99 (USD). So how do they look? Take a look for yourself! 

SinfulColors Professional


 One coat of each polish
 Two coats of each polish (no flash)
Two coats of each polish with flash.
As you can see the white is really opaque. And the pink has a jelly sort of finish. The blue is also nice and creamy. 
My thoughts: These polishes are great for the price! The only downside for me is that the blue one smells oddly stronger than the others :( boo....but it is a nice color. I love the white one for french tips. And the pink one has such a glossy jelly like finish that I don't think a top coat is needed. Also dried nicely, so no complaints there. And it also only took two coats to get a good color pay off. 

JulieG 

 One coat (without flash)
 Two coats (without flash)
Two coats (with flash)
Both colors are quite lovely! They both remind me a little of the Essie nail polishes.
My thoughts: I like the red one better than the pink one. The pink one can get streaky if you don't put enough polish on the first time. The red one doesn't seem to have that problem! Both have a nice glossy finish and don't have a highly offensive smell. (to me at least) I give these polishes a thumbs up! 

I hope you enjoyed my mini review and let me know if you have ever tried any of these polishes!
Take Care
XO  Karina

Nailspiration!

Hey loves! 
Hope this post finds you well...I've been on a roll with these inspirations lately! Today's nail look is inspired by one of my lovely friends, Isa. She is a sister of the Alpha Xi Delta sorority and I was inspired to use the colors and letters of the sorority. Its a lovely color and I think I did a pretty good job. I'm thinking about making more nail inspired looks but my limited stash of colors is holding me back...hmmm sounds like its time to go shopping...I hope you enjoy this look! Let me know if you have any requests! I will also be doing a review on the Sinful colors nail polishes so stay tuned!

XO Karina

Monday, August 19, 2013

Milani Lipstick-Current Favorite!

Hey guys, its me again!
I wanted to make another quick post about a lipstick I've been loving lately. AmandaAlise from Youtube, showed off one of her favorite Milani lipsticks in a video. (BTW if you havn't checked her out you totally should!)
Anyways..I was out Target shopping for the dreaded time of the month supplies, is that tmi? hmm oh wells...and I had to stop by the make-up section. Of course my Target had to have these lipsticks on clearance! I got mine for 3.49$ US dollars. It was totally worth the price! I am not one to wear crazy bold lipsticks but this pink look fabulous!



 It is a matte finish and it lasts a really long time! My lips are already dry on their own so I would def exfoliate before putting it on. Oh I forgot to mention they are Milani Color Statement, and mine is shade 15 Hot Pink Rage. Be sure to check these lipsticks out! Wish I could've gotten more...there was a nude shade that had my name all over it! but I have been trying to use up what I already own so I only picked this up...and a Sinful Colors nailpolish...okayyyy well that's all for now!
xo Karina

Manicure Monday!

Hey there loves!
Today is Monday! and I gave myself a manicure. For my birthday my bestie got me this gorgeous taupe color by Essie called Chinchilly (don't quote me on the name, i am not 100% sure that it is accurate but its something along those lines)
Here I used two coats and of course base/top coats. I am loving the way my nails look, perfect for everyday! If I still worked in an office I'm sure it would still be appropriate to wear.
Let me know what you are wearing on your nails these days!
Thanks for stopping by, take care!
-Karina

25 Questions/ Get to know me! (RT)


Hey Loves!
Its been a while, so i figured i'd better catch up on some much needed postings. This one is going to be a post in order for you guys to get to know me a bit better. Please read and enjoy! <3 Thank you for stopping by and take care, xo Karina.
1. What time did you go to bed last night and were you alone? 
I went to bed around 11:20PM and I was alone.
2. If you could be given ANY gift what would it be?
I want to say a Nissan GTR in black but then again I would need GTR maintenance money...so I will go with option two which is a Nissan Altima 2.5S two door in silver.
3. What was the last film that really moved/disturbed/thrilled you and why? 
The documentary Happy, I watched it on Netflix and I was really moved to make sure that I am constantly reminding myself to live a happy and healthy lifestyle. Work and school are important in my life but they shouldn't run my life. I realized that I have to make  some "me" time fit into my schedule in order to stay happy :)

4. What is your favourite TV show of all time i.e. you've seen them all, can watch it over and over again and quote lines from it?  
I don't think I have a TV I can quote lines from but I have to say Gilmore Girls is one of my favs that I can watch over and over.
5. What's your favourite way to wake up and what's the first thing you do? 
Uhhh....?? I like to wake up to the sunlight? I don't like waking up to crazy music or the sound of vacuums if thats what this question is getting at. The first thing I do is check my phone haha
6. What would you call yourself if you could choose your own name? 
I like my name Karina. But when I was younger I actually wanted to be called Elizabeth like Lizzie from Lizze McGuire.
7. If you had to do a bushtucker challenge (you have to eat insects/grubs etc) what would be the worst thing you had to eat? 
Eww. and probably just the fact that it had to be insects is enough to make it the worst thing to eat. 8. What's the worst/most embarrassing CD/Album you've ever owned and do you still have it? 
 The Lizzie McGurie Movie soundtrack. haha good times! Sadly I threw it out.

9. What would be your dream vehicle (bikes, cars, boats, bat-car and millennium falcon is allowed!)? 
Nissan GTR!! or a Maserati. I'm all about the fast car life haha You won't catch me in a mom car!

10. What's your favourite fantasy people sandwhich? 
what?...on to the next question
11. What characteristics do you dislike in yourself? 
The fact that I can get pissed off easily. Like obviously I try not to, but sometimes there's little things that bother me and I can get quite dramatic over it.
12. Your favourite item of clothing and why? 
My favorite item of clothing owuld have to be my only pair of Michael Kors jeans. While everyone is rocking his bags I am rocking his jeans :) They fit like a glove! and its the perfect navy blue color.
13. If you could go anywhere in the world on vacation, where would it be and who would it be with? 
I would go to Greece with my mom. She loves to travel and she's been wanting to go to Greece for quite a while now!
14. If you could have any animal/creature, what would be your ultimate pet be? 
Nothing exotic, only because it would require me to hire an expert to take care of it. I really want a West Highland Terrier. :)
15. What did you want to be when you were little and do you think you ever will be? 
I always wanted to be a pediatrician. I don't know if I will be a pediatrician because that would require med school and I don't have any courses dealing with chemistry or biology..

16. Whats the next planned event you're looking forward to in your life? 
Believe it or not, I am looking forward to the day I graduate from graduate school and to my wedding. Most people know about the first one but not many know about the second one. I don't like people knowing that I am secretly a hopeless romantic haha. 17. What were you doing before you started this? 
Texting my friend and deleting pictures on my camera in order to make room for new ones.18. What was the last thing you ate that you really shouldn't? 
I drank some soda...probably shouldn't have. I'm supposed to be training..haha

19. If you were an ice cream/haagen daz/ben an jerrys flavour what would you be? 
Pistachio for sure! I love that flavor! you are what you eat right?
20. Who was the last person you spoke to that you didn't want to talk to?
I can't think of anyone
21. What was your favourite toy as a child  . . .and now? 
Barbies! and now boys..hahaha ;)
22. When was the last time you cried laughing and why? 
Adriana....and her cray late night text messages...Mo'nique. bahahahahah!!!
23. What is stashed under your bed/mattress? 
Boxes of stuff that I don't have space for in my room. They are filled with books or dvds and miscellaneous things.
24. What did you dream about last night? 
Someone calling my house telling me they were alerted of someone entering, and I told them no alarm had gone off, that it was a mistake everything was fine. Then I saw the top panel drop down and I walked out of my room and locked the door and told the person on the phone to call the police that they were right, someone was in my house! Then i woke up.
25. What are you really afraid of? 
Scary movies! They really creep me out..no, they FREAK me out. naw naw I aint about that life.

Friday, August 2, 2013

FOTD: Natural vs. Colorful Beauty

Hello beauties!
I am so late on posting these pictures but better late than never right? ...*crickets*...okay okay so I still have a lot of work to do in terms of becoming more frequent with my posts BUT it is summer so I am using this time to take a much needed break from school/work/stress. These past few months I've had so much fun hanging out with friends and being home that I can't believe why I didn't take a break sooner. Anyways enough about my personal life, lets get down to the good stuff!

Natural Beauty

 For this look I really just kept it natural. I used MAC's Satin Taupe on the lids, MAC's Modesty on the lip, and BareMinerals All over face glow in True. I think I also used my Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Zero OR I used Rimmel's ScandalEyes gel eyeliner...(I'm sorry I didnt write what I used down, this pic was taken weeks ago)  *p.s. excuse my crazy hair in these pictures, clearly I need to work on that too haha :)

Colorful Beauty

 I went to a beach outing/ pool party this past week, and I wanted to wear something fun since I don't really go out. I ended up using my MAC "Surf USA" eyeshadow. I primed my eyelid with TooFaced Shadow insurance and then used Virgin from the Urban Decay "Naked" palette all over my eyelid. I concentrated the "Surf USA" teal color in the outer corner of my eye and blended towards my crease. I completed the look by lining my upper lash line with my Rimmel Scandal eyes gel liner. I also filled in my brows with a dark brown eyeshadow sample from BareMinerals (shade is Cocoa). 
 I've really been loving filling in my brows! Oh and I totally forgot to put lipstick on that day too :/ 
How's your summer been going? I hope everyone is enjoying the beautiful weather and making the most of it! Let me know if you have any ideas for a post in the comments! Thanks so much for taking the time to read my post! <3 Take Care!! -Karina

Friday, June 14, 2013

Greetings & Update!

Hello Lovelies!!
I hope this post finds you well! I've been slacking on my posts on here simply for one reason and that is ....school is over for the summer and I've been relaxing after that horrendous semester. I know I know, I should've been better about posting, but truth is every time I wanted to post something I got really lazy and/or it would rain which would make me think "well if i put makeup on i'm not going anywhere so i'm technically wasting makeup.." don't know if I'm the only one that thinks this...BUT without further blabbing on, I sincerely apologize for my lack of posting on here.
For today's post, I decided to recreate a look by one of my favorite beauty youtubers "Bubz'. I will include the link at the bottom of this post. I didn't get a chance to photograph the items I used to create this look but I will write them out for you!
I basically started off by cleansing my skin with my Rhonda Allison pumpkin cleanser, then I toned my face with my Origins toner in United States.
I then used the Origins GinZing Energy-boosting moisturizer all over my face for a dewy-ish finish. (My skin is already oily and doesn't need to look completely dewy or I'll look like a grease ball.) 
For eyeshadow I used my Wet N Wild trio in Walking on Eggshells (I used the eyelid color -slight nudey pink, and the browbone color -beige shimmer-for under the lower lashline).
 I tight-lined my upper eyelid with Urban Decay 24/7 Glide on Eye Pencil in Demolition, and for mascara I used L'oreal Voluminous Carbon Black.
 For my cheeks I used BareMinerals blush in Chuckle and for lipgloss I think I'm going to reach for a pinky-coral shade since I don't have a pink gloss at the moment. (gloss is not pictured here)
Hope you guys like the look and let me know if you try it out!
Take care :)




Saturday, April 6, 2013

My Weekend Makeup

Hi Lovlies!
I just wanted to post something quick about what makeup i am wearing today. I was going to go out without make-up since I am currently under attack by the zit patrol, BUT I figured its such a beautiful day why not?

I used my Naked palette by Urban Decay. The overall lid color is smog, my crease color is Naked, and for my highlight I used Virgin. And for eyeliner I used Urban Decay 24/7 in Underground. For mascara I used L'Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black.
 I tired to do a contour with BareMinerals all over radiance in True but its very very light. Not sure why, maybe I was too light handed ??
And finally on my lips I used Clinique's Tenderheart. (excuse my wacky hair. I was trying to figure out what to do with it. LOL)
Thanks for stopping by dears!
XO Karina

Make Up Collection

Hi lovelies!
I hope you all had an amazing week! I've been busy with school, but that's how it is during the last few weeks. Anyhoo...I wanted to make a post of all the make-up I have. I thought to myself as I was taking the pictures, I really have a lot of makeup, I wonder if anyone would like to see me do tutorials with them...so here I am showing you guys what I have built up over the past few months and recent years. I am not posting these pictures as a way of bragging. I am posting them in order to share my collection- obviously if you are reading my blog it is because you have a passion for make-up/art. I think its fascinating to see other people's collection because what they have usually says something about them. Like if they have fun crazy colors, it usually says they aren't afraid of taking risks. I also like to see the colors in peoples collections. For me, make-up is just another medium. I used to be really into art, drawing and sketching etc, and make-up just offers me another way of creating something new and fun.
Just keep in mind that I will always believe in inner beauty more than outer beauty. I may be really into make-up but I'm not superficial. And that being said, I will leave you all with a quote- "The prettiest girls, are the happiest girls." This really applies to everyone! and not sure who said it but I really love this quote! 
XO Karina 









Birthday/Self Appreciation Haul!

Hi beauties!
I almost forgot to post the treats I received for my birthday and just some stuff I bought that I really needed. I went to Ulta and bought the oil free eye makeup remover. And I must say that its really good! Its by Boots and it stings a bit if it gets into your eyes, but it really does the job at removing mascara and eye shadow primer. (I have oily lids so I have to use eye shadow primer.)


The Body Shop was having a spin the wheel sale, so of course that sucked me in. I went in there and spun and I got 40% off my entire purchase! Although I only picked up two things they were well worth it. The sweet lemon scrub is really nice for a treat in the bath! Lately I've been on a kick about treating myself to something nice every once in a while for all the effort and stress that I go through daily. My next pick up was the seaweed daily moisturizer. It's supposed to help with oil production since it is a mattifying cream, and I've only used it twice so I will let you know how I feel about it once I've used it a bit more. So far it hasn't broken me out and seems to do the trick for my oily t-zone.
For my birthday I got a gift card from MAC. I have a bunch of MAC stuff that I love but rarely wear.I know I know, I have to start using them...so I decided to pick up a bronzer. It's called Blunt and technically it is a matte blush. I haven't used it yet because I am recovering from a break out all over my face, but once my skin clears up I will show you how it looks. I don't have a matte bronzer so I figured I could use one in my collection. I also picked up Satin Taupe eyeshadow. Everyone raves about this shadow on YouTube, so I figured why not try it out? I've used it once and it didn't seem like anything special. Then again it could just have been that i didn't use enough, or that I didn't put enough primer on for it to stick to my lids.
I hope you all are enjoying my posts as there will be more to come!
Smile, pretties, it's your best beauty look.
XO Karina

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Hair Creations!

Hi beauties!
I sincerely hope you are all doing well! Its been cold the past few days and I haven't been reaching for any makeup so I don't have any goodies to show you. BUT last week I helped out a friend who was a hosting an event and I worked on the models' hair!
Now don't get me wrong for I am no hair expert but I have to say I was really excited about the results!
For the most part it was a vintage pin up inspired look and I tried to envision Dita Von Tees when I was curling away. Here are a few pictures of how things came out! Shoutout to Biancas fashion corner for taking the pictures! http://biancas-fashioncorner.tumblr.com/




Let me know what you think and if you would like to see a demo/tutorial on how to get one of the looks! xo Karina :)

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Stand Up For Love! RT

Hello Beauties!!

So every now and then I will be posting up what I like to call real talk (RT). It's basically me just talking to you guys about a topic that I find worth talking about and it could be about anything! I will try to put in the title RT so you know its a post about a topic other than make-up (for those of you whom are not interested in my babbling! lol )
So I wanted to talk about love...but not just any love...about self-love. (Because honestly I can not help you out with your love life LOL save that for the professionals!) What I can help with is encouraging women/men/anyone to feel love for themselves. We live in a society where things are so fast paced and there are tons of messages being sent in our direction "buy this, drive this, eat this, go here, wear that!" and sometimes it can be a little chaotic. We should take the time to be aware of ourselves and what we want even if that means taking out five minutes of your day to address any feelings of low confidence and/or low self-esteem. Because to be honest who doesn't have those days?...you know, when you're sitting at home thinking to yourself "i wish I were ______" or when you're walking around minding your business when suddenly you see someone with ____ and you just picture yourself having that too! I mean I can totally relate, like there are days where I am wondering where some of these women find the time to get their hair done and makeup done before an 8 AM class, and then I think to myself well, maybe thats their own way of showing themselves some love, by looking good!Because when you look good you feel good too! So basically what I am saying is we all have days or moments when we feel down about anything, weight, height, hair, make-up, pimples, not having the right car, not having the right phone ETC. I recently heard the phrase "count your blessings not your problems" and this is exactly what i am trying to get at. You are special and beautiful, and don't you forget it!  So love yourself! Compliment yourself! Look in the mirror and focus on the positive things! Write down your best traits and post them around your room to remind you each and everyday that you are special!
Don't forget that the most important person that matters is YOU! Be strong, Be happy, and show yourself some love everyday!
-xo Karina

Getting Naked! (Palette)

Hello Beauties!

Hope you guys are doing great! I just got back from spring break and i feel refreshed! As you know I was stressed out to the max, now I'm all relaxed and ready for the last few weeks of school! Well I haven't posted anything in a while and its mostly because I've been trying to catch up on school work. that..AND the fact that I am still camera shy. I started this blog to share with you guys my love for makeup and to encourage women to be beautiful inside and out. So in this post I will be talking about the ever famous..or infamous, whatever same difference!...Naked Palette. I bought this badboy back in the day when it was all anyone would talk about. And to be honest I've barely gotten good use out of it. I should be using it everyday but reality is that with a 5AM wake up call, I don't reach for make-up. I usually go all out when I'm going out to the bar or hanging out with friends or for those once in a blue moon date nights. anyhoo, back to the make-up. Here are a few pictures of my makeup. To be HONEST, I don't remember what colors I used as I took these pictures a long time ago! but I probably used sidecar on the lid and buck in the crease. I used the TooFaced shadow insurance also!
 I used my Urban Decay 24/7 liner in zero, and I put two coats of Voluminous Carbon Black mascara on my lashes.For the face I used BareMinerals foundation in the original formula and their blush. (I don't remember the names but will get back to you if you really want to know!) As for my lips, I used Tenderheart by Clinique.



Thursday, February 7, 2013

A Perfect World?

Hi beauties!
  So today I'm walking around campus minding my own business and then it hit me...I've been rocking the hoodie and jeans look this past week. I used to rock this look all the time during my freshman year and that was not a good time in my life so you can only imagine how i feel right now. Between stressing over classes and homework and Grad school, I am in overwhelmed mode. I realize that I am not sad or angry about anything with my life, actually i feel pretty good about where I am but its just the whole getting ready in the morning that seems to be such a d-r-a-g. I see all these gorgeous girls walking around in heels and makeup and their hair is done and all I can think is what is their secret? I have a 5am wakeup call and at that time in the AM, I don't have time or energy to get all dolled up. BUT i do make an effort to put a little somethin somethin on :) so what's been my favorite product lately? Origins BB cream. Now I know what you're thinking...*not another BB cream*....but just hear me out! Its really a tinted moisturizer with antioxidants packed in there to help pollution stay off your pretty face AND WAIT THERES MORE! it has a nice light coverage to perfect the skin and has SPF. Talk about amazing. I have oily skin and there are some moisturizers that I can not tolerate because the SPF makes my face look gross but not this one!
I highly recommend you check it out, if you have an Origins counter near you go and get your free mini facial and get your free samples!! they also have a website that you can check them out at!  Origins A Perfect World BB cream
Ok well enough about that, how do you deal with hectic mornings? do you have time to get your glam on or are you like me and barely have time to eat breakfast in peace? let me know!

hugs
Karina

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Ode to bareMinerals!

What's up beauty loves?
This is the first time I am blogging....
 Well I wrote a blog about myself the first time but this is the first time i am actually blogging about something other than myself.
anyhoo, today I wanted to talk to you about bareMinerals. I am not endorsed nor sponsored by them but I just happen to love their brand! I have their foundation and it really is an innovated product. I know everywhere in the market there seems to be mineral this and that but bareMinerals has really set the bar. Their foundation is a light to medium coverage and is applied with a fluffy brush. It makes you look very put together without looking like you're ready for the Oscars. The best part is that their foundation does not clog up my pores!!  I also have a few eyeshadows and a blush. The blush is my favorite but then again I just love wearing blush. I have the all over radiance but I can not remember the name. I know we aren't supposed to but I totally fell asleep with my blush on the other night and let me tell you there was not a pimple in sight! The blush/all over radiance really does NOT clog your pores! I use just a little bit from the lid and its all I really need!
I don't know how I am going to use up all the product but it's quickly becoming one of my favorite brands!
I had one of their lip glosses and although a tad bit sticky, it was really moisturizing! I think the MAC lip glasses are stickier though! It's worth a try! Go to your local bareMinerals counter and have them fit you for a foundation along with a sample of their eyeshadow! (p.s. if the representative does not want to give you a sample then find another counter! They are supposed to make you feel welcome and they should not pressure you into buying anything! but that is for another blog!! )







Well that is all for now! let me know of things you would like to hear about on this blog. Let's keep it related to beauty though! this is a beauty blog after all... taa-taa! Arrivaderci!